top of page

What I learned about mom-ing

Mama's are special creatures. They're expected to not only know it all, but to do it all. The weird thing is, that the day your baby is born, is the day you become a mom. No one expects the baby to know anything yet, they get the grace and time to learn and grow as they please. The mom though, is expected to just know how to be a mom. To know when the baby needs to sleep, or eat, or snuggle. To know how to change diapers without having blow-outs, to know how to play with your baby in order for them to meet milestones, and to know when its appropriate to call the doctor and freak out versus when to stay calm and carry on by yourself. Dad's on the other hand get the grace of everyone saying "he'll learn quick, it's all new to him" or "it's not instinctual for a man" or even "it's not his job to know" from the rare few that have the audacity to think that the dad didn't become an equal parent at the exact same moment as the mama.


Innately, I knew this before I became a mom. I had watched family and friends go through the same thing and heard the words of wisdom for years. It doesn't matter what you hear though or how thoroughly "prepared" you are for parenthood, you just can't fully grasp it until you become a parent yourself. Never in my life, have I appreciated my own mom, more than I do today, nor I'm sure as much as I will tomorrow. Each day I find something more to appreciate her for.


All this to say - give yourself grace mama. This is your first time being a mom, or entering this new stage, or going through this new step as well. You deserve the time and grace to grow on your own too without the pressure of all the perfect Instagram mom posts. So hold yourself a little higher, give a shout out to all the other mamas out there doing their thing, and carry on with your multi-tasking, kick-ass attitude, because that's all there is left to do and

we're all in this together.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page